COS EYECON 2016 -the 29th Annual Conference of Chandigarh Ophthalmological Society (organized by the Advanced Eye Centre, PGIMER) was held on 27th-28th August 2016 at the LT1 complex, Nehru Hospital, Post Graduate Institute of Medical Education and Research, Chandigarh.

The 2 day conference which was attended by over 200 delegates, was conducted under the auspices of the Punjab Medical Council and accorded 4 CME credit hours. As part of the conference a wet lab for phacoemulsification and glaucoma surgery skill transfer was conducted in the forenoon on the 27h of August, followed by the AIOS –ARC symposia on glaucoma and cataract surgery in the afternoon. Dr Yogesh Shah from Mumbai, Dr Amit Gupta from PGI, and Dr Parul Icchpujani from Government Medical College and Hospital (GMCH) Chandigarh were the AIOS-ARC nominated speakers for these symposia. The last event of the day was a quiz for residents, in which 5 team participated. The first prize was won by the team from GMCH. At the end of the scientific deliberations, a banquet for the registered delegates and invited faculty was hosted at Hotel Mount View, Chandigarh.

The 2nd day of the conference (28th of August) included a free paper session in the morning, Eposters, and 5 other scientific sessions where eminent national and regional faculty participated. Prof Amod Gupta delivered the Keynote Address on “Winning Back Patients” in the ‘Symposium on Ocular Infections’. This symposium was followed by the Dr AD Grover Memorial Oration, which this year was conferred upon Dr Rohit Shetty, an eminent refractive surgeon and keratoconus expert, who is also the Vice Chairman, of Narayana Nethralaya, Bangalore. Dr Shetty spoke on the ‘Power of Curiosity.’ Other sessions of the day included “Expert Opinions” and “Mixed bag of Ophthalmic Gems” and a Retina session where the latest developments in different subspecialities of Ophthalmology were discussed. The conference concluded with the valedictory function where a vote of thanks was delivered by the Organizing Secretaries – Dr Reema Bansal and Dr Chintan Malhotra – and prizes were distributed to the winners of the quiz, free papers (Dr Parul Goyal) and E-poster (Dr Natasha Gautam).

Contact Us

Chandigarh Ophthalmological Society

Dr. Amit Gupta (President, COS)

Cornea and Refractive Surgery Services
Advanced Eye Centre, PGIMER, Chandigarh

Dr. Parul Ichhpujani (Hony. Secretary, COS)

Glaucoma and Neurophthalmology Services
Govt Medical College and Hospital, Chandigarh